2016 HCSS Program Committee


P R O G R A M   C O - C H A I R S  

KATHLEEN FISHER is Chair of the Computer Science Department at Tufts University. Previously, she was a program manager at DARPA, a Consulting Faculty Member in the Computer Science Department at Stanford University, and a Principal Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Labs Research. She received her PhD in Computer Science from Stanford University. Kathleen is an ACM Fellow and a Hertz Foundation Fellow. She has served as Chair of the ACM Special Interest Group in Programming Languages (SIGPLAN) and as Program Chair for three of SIGPLAN's marquee conferences: PLDI, OOPSLA, ICFP. She has also served as an Associate Editor for TOPLAS and as an Editor of the Journal of Functional Programming. Kathleen has long been a leader in the effort to increase diversity and inclusion in Computer Science: she was Co-Chair of the Computing Research Association's Committee on the Status of Women (CRA-W) for three years, and she co-founded SIGPLAN's Programming Language Mentoring Workshop (PLMW) Series. Kathleen is a recipient of the SIGPLAN Distinguished Service Award. She is Chair of DARPA's ISAT Study Group and a member of the Board of Trustees of Harvey Mudd College.

STEPHEN MAGILL is a Principal Scientist of Software Analysis at Galois. Inc. His research interests focus on static and dynamic program analysis, with a particular emphasis on scalability and tuning analyses for specific software domains. His recent work focuses on security, both software security in the traditional sense and related issues such as privacy. He has also worked on analyses that help programmers build and deploy software updates in high-availability environments. Prior to joining Galois in 2014, Stephen was a Research Scientist at the Institute for Defense Analyses Center for Computing Sciences (IDA/CCS). Before that, he was a post-doctoral researcher with Michael Hicks at the University of Maryland, College Park, where his work primarily focused on two topics: 1) verifying correctness of software updates, and 2) enforcing privacy by reasoning statically about accumulated attacker knowledge. Stephen earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon University under the guidance of Peter Lee, Stephen Brookes, and John Reynolds.


C O M M I T T E E  

JOHN HATCLIFF, Kansas State University 
BRAD MARTIN, National Security Agency

BILL SCHERLIS, Carnegie Mellon University 
FRANK SEATON TAYLOR, National Security Agency


O R G A N I Z E R   

Publicity and Communications: KATIE DEY (Vanderbilt University) 
Local Arrangements: ANNE DYSON (Cyber Pack Ventures) 
Graphic Design: AMY KARNS (Vanderbilt University)


S P O N S O R    A G E N C Y  

NITRD HCSS Coordinating Group